Spring 2024 Library Workshops

Spring 2024 Library Workshops
The library invites you to online and in-person workshops hosted this Spring quarter.

For more information, see this Library Guide. Need help or have questions? Contact us at lib-reference@fuller.edu.

APRIL

  • [Korean] 도서관 온라인 서비스 관련 웨비나 4월 16일 (화) 오후 3시(미서부시간)  Zoom Link 
  • [Spanish] Taller de Recursos Electrónicos Miércoles, Abril 17, 6:00 PM (Tiempo del Pacífico) Zoom Link
  • [English] How to use ebooks (Beginner) Thursday, April 23, 3:00 PM Pacific Time (US and Canada), Zoom Link

MAY

  • [English] Research Tips for the ATLA Religion Database Thursday, May 14, 3:00 PM Pacific Time (US and Canada), Zoom Link TBA
  • [English] Citation Tools Wednesday, May 15 3:00 PM Pacific Time, Zoom Link TBA

 

See you then!

Training for users of the APA databases

Don’t miss the opportunity to refresh your research skills and learn how to navigate American Psychological Association (APA) databases more efficiently. Register for free online sessions:

Fall 2023 APA PsycInfo: Beginner Search (EBSCOhost)

These sessions are for anyone who is new to searching behavioral science literature and will demonstrate how to identify the best search terms, apply filters to narrow the range of results, and pinpoint empirical studies. 

Wednesday, September 20, 11:00 a.m. (PDT)

Thursday, October 26, 11:00 p.m. (PDT)

Fall 2023 APA PsycInfo: Advanced Search (EBSCOhost)

These sessions highlight some of APA PsycInfo’s advanced functionality, designed to increase your efficiency by retrieving better search results faster.

Wednesday, September 27, 11:00 a.m. (PDT)

Thursday, November 2, 11:00 a.m. (PDT)

All session are hosted by American Psychological Association trainers. 

Can’t attend a scheduled session?

 

Library Services for Alumni

Our warmest congratulations to all our graduates!

We are proud of your achievements and happy to cheer you on. Keep growing, never stop learning and stay connected with your library! 

D. A. Hubbard Library Services for Degreed Alumni

Alumni ID Cards

Alumni can get a free Fuller alumni photo ID card at the Welcome Center located on the first floor of the library.

The alumni ID is used to enter the library and check out books. Please bring a government issued photo ID to help us expedite your Fuller account verification. 

Library Use and Book Checkout Privileges

Alumni can visit the library and use its collections during normal operating hours. They can check out 5 books from the library at a time for 3 weeks (21 days) with no renewals. 

Alumni visiting the library can use Internet access and obtain a Wi-Fi code at the front desk of the library.

Alumni do not have direct access to their online library accounts and can email lib-info@fuller.edu or call the library at 626-584-5618 with any questions regarding their accounts and the library.

Access to Electronic Resources/Library Databases

How do I get an online Fuller ID?

In order to manage your Fuller ID (username and password), you will need to know your G number. If you do not know your G number, call the Office of Alumni Relations at 626.792.3232 Ext. 2 or e-mail alumni@thefullerfoundation.org

With your G number, you will be able to claim your account on this page: https://login.fuller.edu/fullerid/claim_account

After that, you will be able to access the selected alumni databases using your Fuller ID.

Electronic Resources 

Alumni have access to selected electronic resources, including major collections, such as ATLA Religion, EBSCO and ProQuest ebooks and Sage Journals. For more information on electronic resources for alumni and remote access, please visit the Services for Alumni LibGuide (To access this guide, sign in with your username and password).

For assistance with research, contact Reference Librarians at lib-reference@fuller.edu.

Congratulations Graduates Fuller Seminary 2023

Search smarter this spring with APA PsycInfo

For every first time or seasoned searcher, the American Psychological Association (APA) offers training that fits your goals and schedule. Learn more and register below:

APA PsycInfo: Beginner Search

These sessions are for anyone who is new to searching behavioral science literature.

Friday, April 7, 12:00 p.m.

 APA PsycInfo: Advanced Search

These sessions highlight some of APA PsycInfo’s advanced functionality, designed to increase your efficiency by retrieving better search results faster.

Friday, April 14, 12:00 p.m.

Register via this link.

The recordings will be available on the APA YouTube channel.

Have questions? Email your librarians at lib-reference@fuller.edu.

APA Logo

APA databases training in October 2022

Start your fall quarter with free online training sessions hosted by American Psychological Association (APA)!

Who can attend? Anyone who’s interested in learning how to use APA databases. The strategies covered for APA PsycInfo also apply to finding full-text content in APA PsycArticles and APA PsycBooks. 

October 2022

APA PsycInfo Basic Search 

Thursday, October 13, at 2 p.m. * (The registration link opens in a new window)

This 25-minute webinar recording shows how to use APA PsycInfo to target your search of the behavioral sciences literature. Appropriate for students new to database searching and faculty, researchers, and professionals who want to hone their research skills.

APA PsycInfo Advanced Search 

Thursday, October 20, at 2 p.m. * (The registration link opens in a new window)

Expand your search expertise with this 30-minute session that builds upon content presented in the APA PsycInfo Basic Search webinar. This webinar includes a search demonstrations using the APA Thesaurus, Cited References, Tests & Measures, and more.

Beyond Subject Searching on APA PsycInfo 

Wednesday, October 26, at 2 p.m. * (The registration link opens in a new window)

Use APA PsycInfo to do a lot more than finding journal articles! This 45-minute session builds upon your use of basic search strategies for APA PsycInfo.  Learn how to find institutions where research on your topic is happening; discover prospective journals for publishing research; explore grants and sponsors that have funded related research; search for information about tests and measures used in the literature; and expand your research expertise with background information about APA PsycInfo search fields and database record structure.

* All scheduled times are Eastern (US and Canada). Convert the event time to your time zone on the registration page.

After registering, you’ll receive a Zoom confirmation email with details about how to join the webinar.

Can’t attend a scheduled session? View a recording on APA YouTube channel whenever it’s convenient for you.

Need some assistance? Contact your reference librarians

APA Logo

Display Issue with Library Catalog Advanced Search

Dear Hubbard Library Patrons,

There is currently a known error in the display of selected databases within the advanced search feature of the library catalog.

Please be aware that the vendor who manages our library catalog (OCLC) is aware of the issue and working on a resolution.

In the meantime, students and faculty are still able to conduct searches from the advanced search page and select their desired databases from the righthand database menu (instructions here). The error does not affect search functionality, but rather the correct database selections do not display properly after clicking “save changes.”

To repeat, the advanced search page will still search your selected databases, and you can (correctly) view which databases are selected by expanding the “All Databases” menu and viewing which boxes are selected. The “Searching Databases” section and (accompanying number) will likely be inaccurate until OCLC provides further updates.

Similarly, the “Reset” button continues to function as normal by restoring the default database selections, but you will need to expand one of the lower menus to see the selections accurately.

Please feel free to email us at lib-systems@fuller.edu if you have any additional questions or would like assistance in using Advanced Search.

Alumni Access to EBSCO Databases

Hello Fuller Alumni Patrons!

 

Due to the vendor updates, you can now access EBSCO databases available for alumni access (EBSCO ebooks, ATLA Serials, Religion Collection, and Audiobook Collection) through our Library Services for Alumni: Electronic Resources page, where you will find a complete list of databases available for alumni patrons. Accessing them through other library sites such as the WorldCat item record page or the Database page may prevent you from viewing the full-text content. 

Please let us know if you have any questions by emailing us at lib-systems@fuller.edu. Thank you!

Trials of the Anchor Bible Collections and Library of Catholic Thought

We are excited to announce the trials of the most requested and trusted resources in Biblical Studies and Theology that we all have been waiting for!

  1. Anchor Yale Bible Commentaries 
  2. The Anchor Yale Bible Dictionary
  3. The Library of Catholic Thought

The trials end on Friday November 12, 2021.

Explore these resources and make your recommendations for their purchase through this form or email our library Electronic Resources Team at lib-systems@fuller.edu.

Need some research assistance? Contact your reference librarians at lib-reference@fuller.edu.

 

 

 

ProQuest Ebooks Scheduled Service on June 26th, 2021

During planned maintenance, ProQuest Ebooks will be unavailable from

Saturday, June 26th 2021 07:00 am until June 26th 2021 3:00 pm (PDT).

Click this link to see what time the maintenance will occur in your region. 

You can learn more about this scheduled maintenance and get tips for preparation on ProQuest support page.

If the maintenance ends early, access will be restored sooner. You can stay up to date with progress by visiting ProQuest Systems Status page.

ProQuest Ebooks will be unavailable from Saturday, June 26th 2021 07:00 am until Saturday, June 26th 2021 3:00 pm PDT.