Winter’24 library training and Q. and A. sessions

Natalya Pashkova

Would you like to strengthen your research skills? Join these complementary training sessions!

Citation Tools

Tuesday, February 20, 4:00 PM Pacific Time (US and Canada).

Duration: 45 minutes. 

Learn with your library and peers how to generate citations using the tools included in a library catalog and databases. We’ll also have a short demo on Zotero, a free program for capturing, organizing and using citations for writing.

Have you missed a live event? View the presentation on Citation Tools.

Register and submit your questions

Research Tips for the ATLA Religion Users

Thursday, February 22, 4:00 PM Pacific Time (US and Canada).

Duration: 45 minutes. 

Learn about search tools and shortcuts the ATLA Religion (American Theological Library Association) database search engine offers.

Who should attend? Anyone who’s interested in finding sources in the following subjects:

    •   • Biblical Studies
    •   • Theology
    •   • World religions and religious studies
    •   • Church history
    •   • Missions and ecumenism
    •   • Pastoral ministry
    •   • Philosophy
    •   • Archaeology and antiquities
    •   • Human culture and society and ethics

Register and submit your questions

How to use ebooks (Beginner)

Thursday, March 7, 4:00 PM Pacific Time (US and Canada).

Duration: 45 minutes.

Join us to learn about finding and using ebooks more effectively! Fuller Library provides access to a robust collection of ebooks. We will review how to find eBooks through the library catalog and browse some collections through our ebook databases.

Register and submit your questions

APA Webinars

The American Psychological Association search experts teach how to navigate APA PsycInfo to discover the latest behavioral science research. Search strategies covered in these sessions can be applied across all platforms when searching other APA databases.

Register to attend the APA live event(s) or to access its recording.

APA PsycInfo: Beginner Search

These 45-minute sessions are for anyone who is new to searching behavioral science literature.

Friday, March 15, 11:00 AM Pacific Time (US and Canada)

Register for the APA webinars

APA PsycInfo: Advanced Search

These 60-minute sessions highlight some of APA PsycInfo’s advanced functionality designed to increase efficiency by retrieving better search results faster.

Friday, February 16, 11:00 AM Pacific Time (US and Canada)

Friday, March 22, 11:00 AM Pacific Time (US and Canada)

Register for the APA webinars

Library Services for Alumni

Natalya Pashkova

Our warmest congratulations to all our graduates!

We are proud of your achievements and happy to cheer you on. Keep growing, never stop learning and stay connected with your library! 

D. A. Hubbard Library Services for Degreed Alumni

Alumni ID Cards

Alumni can get a free Fuller alumni photo ID card at the Welcome Center located on the first floor of the library.

The alumni ID is used to enter the library and check out books. Please bring a government issued photo ID to help us expedite your Fuller account verification. 

Library Use and Book Checkout Privileges

Alumni can visit the library and use its collections during normal operating hours. They can check out 5 books from the library at a time for 3 weeks (21 days) with no renewals. 

Alumni visiting the library can use Internet access and obtain a Wi-Fi code at the front desk of the library.

Alumni do not have direct access to their online library accounts and can email lib-info@fuller.edu or call the library at 626-584-5618 with any questions regarding their accounts and the library.

Access to Electronic Resources/Library Databases

How do I get an online Fuller ID?

In order to manage your Fuller ID (username and password), you will need to know your G number. If you do not know your G number, call the Office of Alumni Relations at 626.792.3232 Ext. 2 or e-mail alumni@thefullerfoundation.org. 

With your G number, you will be able to claim your account on this page: https://login.fuller.edu/fullerid/claim_account

After that, you will be able to access the selected alumni databases using your Fuller ID.

Electronic Resources 

Alumni have access to selected electronic resources, including major collections, such as ATLA Religion, EBSCO and ProQuest ebooks and Sage Journals. For more information on electronic resources for alumni and remote access, please visit the Services for Alumni LibGuide (To access this guide, sign in with your username and password).

For assistance with research, contact Reference Librarians at lib-reference@fuller.edu.

Congratulations Graduates Fuller Seminary 2023

Search smarter this spring with APA PsycInfo

Natalya Pashkova

For every first time or seasoned searcher, the American Psychological Association (APA) offers training that fits your goals and schedule. Learn more and register below:

APA PsycInfo: Beginner Search

These sessions are for anyone who is new to searching behavioral science literature.

Friday, April 7, 12:00 p.m.

 APA PsycInfo: Advanced Search

These sessions highlight some of APA PsycInfo’s advanced functionality, designed to increase your efficiency by retrieving better search results faster.

Friday, April 14, 12:00 p.m.

Register via this link.

The recordings will be available on the APA YouTube channel.

Have questions? Email your librarians at lib-reference@fuller.edu.

APA Logo

APA databases training in October 2022

Natalya Pashkova

Start your fall quarter with free online training sessions hosted by American Psychological Association (APA)!

Who can attend? Anyone who’s interested in learning how to use APA databases. The strategies covered for APA PsycInfo also apply to finding full-text content in APA PsycArticles and APA PsycBooks. 

October 2022

APA PsycInfo Basic Search 

Thursday, October 13, at 2 p.m. * (The registration link opens in a new window)

This 25-minute webinar recording shows how to use APA PsycInfo to target your search of the behavioral sciences literature. Appropriate for students new to database searching and faculty, researchers, and professionals who want to hone their research skills.

APA PsycInfo Advanced Search 

Thursday, October 20, at 2 p.m. * (The registration link opens in a new window)

Expand your search expertise with this 30-minute session that builds upon content presented in the APA PsycInfo Basic Search webinar. This webinar includes a search demonstrations using the APA Thesaurus, Cited References, Tests & Measures, and more.

Beyond Subject Searching on APA PsycInfo 

Wednesday, October 26, at 2 p.m. * (The registration link opens in a new window)

Use APA PsycInfo to do a lot more than finding journal articles! This 45-minute session builds upon your use of basic search strategies for APA PsycInfo.  Learn how to find institutions where research on your topic is happening; discover prospective journals for publishing research; explore grants and sponsors that have funded related research; search for information about tests and measures used in the literature; and expand your research expertise with background information about APA PsycInfo search fields and database record structure.

* All scheduled times are Eastern (US and Canada). Convert the event time to your time zone on the registration page.

After registering, you’ll receive a Zoom confirmation email with details about how to join the webinar.

Can’t attend a scheduled session? View a recording on APA YouTube channel whenever it’s convenient for you.

Need some assistance? Contact your reference librarians. 

APA Logo

ATLA Religion Database Tour

Natalya Pashkova

Join the library and your peers and learn about search tools and shortcuts that the American Theological Library Association Religion database search engine offers.

When: Tuesday, February 22, 2022 at 4:00 PM (PDT).

Where: Online via Zoom
You will receive a link to join a live event or its recording.

4:00 – 4:30 PM Tour and presentation
4:30 – 5:00 PM Questions and answers

Who should attend?
Anyone who’s interested in learning about finding sources in Biblical Studies, archaeology, and antiquities; human culture and society; world religions and religious studies; church history, missions, and ecumenism; pastoral ministry; theology, philosophy, and ethics.

Preparation: None.

Register at https://forms.gle/YcdNKAKUJ92aWrbH6

About ATLA Religion Database
ATLA Religion (including ATLAS), an American Theological Library Association database, indexes journal articles, essays, and book reviews in all fields of religion.
ATLAS is a digital collection of over 550 full text journals in religion and theology combined with over 1,100 actively indexed journals.
One of the strengths of this database is rich content: the project has digitized journal issues going back about 50 years or more.

Contact: lib-reference@fuller.edu.

Trials of the Anchor Bible Collections and Library of Catholic Thought

Natalya Pashkova

We are excited to announce the trials of the most requested and trusted resources in Biblical Studies and Theology that we all have been waiting for!

  1. Anchor Yale Bible Commentaries 
  2. The Anchor Yale Bible Dictionary
  3. The Library of Catholic Thought

The trials end on Friday November 12, 2021.

Explore these resources and make your recommendations for their purchase through this form or email our library Electronic Resources Team at lib-systems@fuller.edu.

Need some research assistance? Contact your reference librarians at lib-reference@fuller.edu.

 

 

 

Library Subscribes to Luthers Werke

Daniell Whittington

Following our trial subscription in May, Fuller Libraries have added The Weimar Edition of Luthers Werke to our collection of electronic resources.

Luther's_Werke

The online version of The Weimar Edition of Luthers Werke is a complete collection of Luther’s writings. It is one of the largest editions of any individual author ever to have been created. This monumental work, of which the first volume was published in 1883, consists over 117 quarto volumes and is now published in full. Luthers Werke provides an indispensable historical-critical tool for theologians, historians, linguists and literary critics carrying out research into Luther’s life and work.

Martin Luther (1483-1546) is one of the central figures in the development of European cultural and intellectual history. This is as a result of not only his theological influence but also his contribution to the development of New High German.

The Weimar Edition of Luthers Werke is published in electronic form by ProQuest with the co-operation and support of the publishers Hermann Böhlaus Nachfolger Weimar GmbH & Co.

Issue With Remote Access to Library Databases

Daniell Whittington
systemupgrade**UPDATE: EZProxy is back up but running a little slow. Users are now able to access our electronic resources remotely. The IT Team will work on improving the speed. Thank you for your patience.**
Fuller Libraries are currently experiencing an issue with our EZProxy service.  Users are currently not able to access electronic resources such as databases and eBooks from a remote location.
The IT team is working on resolving the issue as soon as possible.  We will post updates here and let you know when it is resolved.

Twentieth Century Religious Thought: Month-Long Trial

Daniell Whittington

20thcentrelthought_banner

We are pleased to announce a month-long trial to Twentieth Century Religious Thought, a repository for the essential works and archival materials documenting religious thinking in the 20th century.  Access is available through March 25, 2015.

Your feedback is very important to us, as our collection development decisions are driven by feedback from faculty, students, and staff.

Twentieth Century Religious Thought offers access to the influential works of worldwide religious thinkers from the 20th century such as Hans Urs von Baltasar, Dietrich Bonhoeffer, Rudolf Bultmann, Gustavo Gutiérrez, Adolf von Harnack, Henri de Lubac, Rosemary Radford Ruether, Dorothee Sölle, and more. Included are 16 volumes of the English edition of the Dietrich Bonhoeffer Works Series (DBWE) and the complete 17-volume German edition of Dietrich Bonhoeffer Werke (DBW). Supporting religious scholarship, this database currently has over 100,000 pages of material exploring key concepts such as ethics, doctrine, and truth across religions.