New Ministry Matters database to replace iPreach!

Alyson Thomas

MinistryMattersMinistry Matters  formerly known as  IPreach, was recently launched by the United Methodist Publishing House, to replace iPreach.
The newly revamped database provides full text access to Biblical reference works, commentaries, and lectionary tools. Commentary series include: The New Interpreter’s Bible, Interpretation Commentaries, Abingdon Old Testament and New Testament, and many more.  Ministry Matters describes itself as a “community of resources for church leaders.”

Please note the database is listed on Fuller Library’s databases page, and Fuller Seminary users will need to sign in with their Portico accounts as usual. A “Purchased” sign should accompany any individual titles from the collection, once you are authenticated. For more information you can take view their short tutorial.  Also, faculty and student interested in submitting articles (750-1500 words) about subjects relevant to church leaders: preaching, teaching, worship planning, leadership, outreach may submit by email to editorial@ministrymatters.com.

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection

Alyson Thomas

sampleAAS_GeorgeWashington_1024The Library invites Fuller community to explore the five series of American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection. Developed by EBSCO in  with American Antiquarian Society (AAS), the historical series provides digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American Periodicals published between 1691 and 1877.  Over seven million pages from more than 7,600 periodicals are available full text.

To explore the collection, please visit our  Library’s Trial Databases pages at: https://library.fuller.edu/library/trial_databases.asp.

Explore and evaluate the new African American Historical Serials Collection!

Alyson Thomas

sample2_ATLASerialsFuller community is invited to explore and evaluate the new African American Historical Serials Collection a unique digital collection documenting the cultural and religious life of African Americans in the 19th and early 20th centuries.

The collection, featuring more than 60,000 pages of primary source content is preserved and curated by American Theological Association (ATLA) and provided by EBSCO’s Historical Digital Archives.

To explore the collection, please visit our  Library’s Trial Databases pages at: https://library.fuller.edu/library/trial_databases.asp.

From The Jonathan Edwards Center

Alyson Thomas

The Jonathan Edwards Center at Yale University just announced that, in partnership with William Eerdmans Publishing Company, it will be producing A Jonathan Edwards Encyclopedia. The volume, to be published in print and online, will consist of some 450 entries, ranging in length, according to the following categories:Long: up to 2,000 words; Medium: up to 1,000 words; Short: up to 500 words; Bio: up to 250 words.

They are invited registered users of the Edwards Center’s website, subscribers to our online journal, Jonathan Edwards Studies, and other interested and qualified members of the reading public to participate in this community non-profit project.

For more information, please visit the Encyclopedia website at: http://edwards.yale.edu/education/encyclopedia/

Help us evaluate Oxford’s Social Explorer!

Alyson Thomas

ImageSocial Explorer is an online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to historical census data and demographic information.  The site currently includes the entire US Census history from 1790 to 2000, all annual updates from the American Community Survey, and the Religious Congregations and Membership Study from 1980 to 2000. The library is currently considering the possibility of replacing its current Global Warrior subscription with Social Explorer.  Please send your comments and suggestions to: dmatei@fuller.edu

Counseling and Therapy in Video: new trial database

Alyson Thomas

Counseling and Therapy in Video database is available on trial basis until December 17, 2010. The database provides the largest and richest online collection of video available for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. The collection’s wealth of video and multiplicity of perspectives allow students and scholars to see, experience, and study counseling in ways never before possible. This current release includes 331 videos totaling roughly 371 hours. Please take some time to explore and give us your feedback here or email us at: dmatei@fuller.edu.

Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference Works: new trial database

Alyson Thomas

Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference Works is also available on trial basis until December 17, 2010. The database is a searchable collection containing real transcripts of therapy and counseling sessions and first-person narratives illuminating the experience of mental illness and its treatment, as well as reference works to contextualize the primary material. New material is added on a regular basis and, when complete, the database will contain more than 2,000 session transcripts, 40,000 pages of client narratives, and 25,000 pages of secondary reference material. The database currently includes approximately 78,200 pages of material, including more than 20,000 pages of session transcripts, more than 32,000 pages of client narratives, and more than 25,000 pages of secondary reference material. Please give us your feedback on this blog or via email to: dmatei@fuller.edu

Interpretation Commentaries and iPreach alert!

Alyson Thomas

Unfortunately, Westminster/John Knox Press made the decision to withdraw the electronic versions of Interpretation Commentaries series out of the IPreach database.  We no longer have online access to these 35 commentaries, although IPreach still lists the titles as current content. Meanwhile, in consultation with some faculty members, the library is trying to replace this online series with similar content.  Your suggestions are welcome. Other eBook Bible commentaries can be found in our local library catalog, by searching for the specific subject and commentary keyword (i.e. Galatians commentar*) and selecting the limit eBooks.

ProQuest Digital Dissertations and Theses: Full Text

Alyson Thomas

We are happy to introduce to you our newest subscription database, the Digital Dissertations and Theses Full-Text. The database provides access to more than 1.2 million full-text theses and dissertations available for download in PDF format, together with 2.7 million searchable citations to theses from around the world from 1861 to the present. Most of these theses were written to fulfill doctoral degrees. The database offers full-text for most of the theses added from 1997 onwards and some retrospective full-text coverage for older theses. Approximately 70,000 new full-text theses are added to the database each year. Provided by Proquest formerly known as UMI (University Microfilm Inc.)